County Club News‎ > ‎

2011 County Convention

posted 23 Feb 2011, 09:51 by Unknown user   [ updated 23 Feb 2011, 09:58 ]

The Gaelic Athletic Association's Canadian County Board's Annual
Convention was well attended with riveting debate on Sunday, February
20 in Ajax, Ontario. In five provinces of Canada are 11 cities with 16
affiliated GAA clubs. Going from West to East (7,349 km in total) one
finds British Columbia’s Vancouver Irish Sporting and Social Club;
Alberta’s Calgary Chieftains, Red Deer Eire Ogs (Mens), Edmonton Wolfe
Tones; Ontario’s Toronto St. Mikes, St. Pats (Mens), St. Vincents
(Mens), Gaels (Mens), Durham Robert Emmets, Brampton Roger Casements,
Michael Cusacks (Ladies), Ottawa Gaels, Quebec’s Montreal Shamrocks,
Quebec City’s  Les Patriotes and Newfoundland/Labrador’s St. John's
Avalon Harps.

Special guests were Uachtarán Chomhairle Uladh C.L.G. Aogán Ó
Fearghail and Rúnaí Chomhairle Uladh C.L.G. Donall Ó Murchu who both
gave encouraging and informative addresses to the attendees.

From clubs submitting motions to the County Convention, for the second
year in a row, the debate about the number of sanctioned players drew
the most attention. A motion by St. Pat's Canadians to change Bye Law
#17 that states a maximum of seven sanctioned players with any club be
increased to 10 was withdrawn after vigorous debate.

A motion from the Durham Robert Emmets stating that the following be
added to Bye Law #17 that "A club fielding a second team or junior
team would be allowed to register 3 additional sanctioned players"
passed with the required two/thirds majority after equally challenging

Four other motions concerning affiliation, fees, letters of permission
and channels of communication were submitted by the County Board to
the Convention. Three were passed and one was withdrawn for further

Chairman Brian Farmer (Durham Robert Emmets) is in the second year of
serving a three year term. Donall Ó Murchu conducted the election of
officers where Vice-Chairman Jarlath Connaughton (Ottawa - Gaels),
Treasurer Eddie Mangan (Durham Robert Emmets), Secretary John O'Flynn
(Vancouver - ISSC), and Development Officer Lorraine Morley
(Toronto-Michael Cusacks Ladies GFC) were re-elected to one year

Unknown user,
23 Feb 2011, 09:58