County Club News‎ > ‎

Eastern Canadian GAA 2015 Championship Winners

posted 19 Sep 2015, 10:48 by Canada GAA
The 2nd annual Eastern Canadian GAA Championships were held in Halifax, Nova Scotia on Saturday, September 5th. There were very competitive matches in hurling, ladies football and men's football. .

Teams participating:  Ottawa Gaels, Eire Og, Montreal Shamrocks, Halifax Gaels and Quebec Patriots.  

Ladies football:
Ottawa defeated Halifax Gaels in the final on a scoreline of 1-5 to 0-1.
This was the first time for a ladies competition at the tournament.  

Ladies MVP award: Kelly Cambridge (Ottawa Gaels)

Men's football:
Contested by Quebec City, Ottawa Gaels, Montreal Shamrocks and Halifax Gaels.
Halifax won a very tough battle in the final on a scoreline of 2-4 to 0-8 over the Montreal Shamrocks.

Men's MVP: Tony Cunningham (Montreal Shamrocks)

Contested by Halifax, Eire Og Ottawa and Montreal.
Halifax defeated Montreal by one point in the final.

MVP Hurling: Colin Dorgan (Halifax Gaels)

The AGM of the Eastern Board was held after the tournament with the following board members being elected:
Chairman: Ronan Corbett (Montreal)
Vice-Chairman: Ciaran Faherty (Halifax)
Secretary: Orla Mckiernan (St John's)
Treasurer: Cillian Breathnach (Quebec City)

Other committee members: Steven Owens, Jean Constantin, Pearse McCarron, Noel McGinnity, Vanessa Mclean, Liam Tyrell, and Ian Lynch.

The venue for next year's tournament will be Quebec City and thanks to Halifax Gaels for a very well organized tournament and reception afterwards.
Canada GAA,
19 Sep 2015, 10:48