County Club News‎ > ‎

Aogán Ó Fearghail elected as Uachtaráin-Tofa Chumann Lúthchleas Gael

posted 22 Feb 2014, 12:57 by Canada GAA   [ updated 22 Feb 2014, 13:05 ]
Special thanks to Seán Walsh (Kerry) and Sheamus Howlin (Wexford) who were excellent candidates for GAA delegates at Congress, and the Canadian County Board congratulates Aogán Ó Fearghail who was elected as Uachtaráin-Tofa Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, meaning he will succeed Liam Ó Néill as President of the Association after Congress 2015, in one year's time. He will be the 38th President of the GAA

"I'm the first Cavan president in our 130 year history and it's nice to come in as the first President," he said. "I just feel humbled by the whole thing and I look forward and I hope I meet the challenges."

"It was very emotional I have to say because a lot of work goes into this for all candidates. Sheamus and Seán are very good friends of mine and I was sitting alongside my family and many members of my own club, including my Chairman, who was a school child friend. So a lot of different emotions going through."

Aogan will be the first Ulster President since Seán McCague (2000-2003)

"It means a lot for Ulster. Ulster GAA is very strong. We put in a huge amount of work and sometimes in Ulster we do find we have a lot of difficulties to overcome but we have overcome them with the help of the wider GAA family."